OBIEE 11g – orthodox De-install Process


Most of the common question is how to Install OBIEE 11g(11.1.1.5) but a bit un-common question is how to De-install until and unless you are facing problem with current installation process . Here are the steps at high level (not screenshot by screenshot) which will perform the orthodox De-install process. As the selection is quite straightforward hence I am skipping the screenshot’s part. There are several blog where you can find the screenshot to help you out.

Briefly, I had the full installation with Weblogic , RCU , Oracle in some path in Windows Server(2008,R2, 64 bit) and after De-installation I want to continue using the same path so all the De-install process should be very clean so that it will not leave any footprints of previous installation in any of the places for a successful installation once again.

Here you go …

  • Stop all running processes for Admin and Managed servers including BI components services. Stop all the processes, if any, created during service process creation for e.g. Windows Process.
  • Remove the Weblogic Server using the Un-installation wizard under Control Panel.
  • Perform De-install from Oracle Business Intelligence -) De-install option of Program menu
  • Drop the RCU schemas using the RCU batch file -) Drop option
  • Manually remove the RCU Tablespace DBF file (to have a clean new RCU schema) . In my case I didn’t remove the DBF file as the Database server is under DBA’s control .Hence, to be safer side I re-create the RCU during the fresh installation process under different tablespace. This will make sure nothing is going to messed up with your previous installation … See below image:
  • De-install Middleware Oracle home (traverse to ..\[MIDDLEWARE_HOME]\Oracle_BI\oui\bin\ and execute below from command line: setup.exe -deinstall)
  • De-install the Middleware common Oracle Home  (traverse to ..\[MIDDLEWARE_HOME]\oracle_common\oui\bin\ and execute below from command line: setup.exe -deinstall –jreLoc  ..\[MIDDLEWARE_HOME]\Oracle_BI1\jdk)
  • Remove the Middleware Home directory with all contents forcefully,if reqd.
  • Remove the environment variable pointing to earlier locations and the relevant paths if any. This is Important!
  • Re-boot the entire server.
  • Delete the Oracle common keys , if any, from registry. This is Important ! Most of the common problem lies here . So in my case I follow the process of finding my Middleware Home path from Registry and delete all relevant Keys and values . Be careful while playing with registry 🙂
  • Remove the windows service process key from registry , if any
  • As in my case I don’t need to De-install my Oracle Client/DB Home hence I skip the process as I going to re-use the same Oracle Home in the next installation time.So if you are going to do the same probably you can skip De-installing your Oracle Client/DB home.

Thats it , Welldone! until you have performed the clean installation once again …..:)

Author: Debashis Paul

Retired Oracle BI Enthusiastic. Musing on Enterprise Cloud & Data Architecture and Design in Open source Full stack framework in Kubernetes and working on Big Data/BI & Analytics. In my blog all the voices are of my own and does not necessarily reflect the views of my employer. Thanks for visiting my Journal.Have a Good Day !!!

Leave a comment